While much of the GGG team takes a break for the holidays, we sat down with one of our new visual effects artists, Felipe, to get the low-down on what his experiences here have been like and a little bit about him.

Hi Felipe! Thanks for taking part in the interview! Could you please introduce yourself and let us know a little bit about your history with Visual Effects?

Hey! Thank you very much for the opportunity to participate in this great series! My name is Felipe, I am 24 years old and I'm Brazilian. It's interesting because my history with Visual Effects actually starts with Path of Exile! This is my first ever job in this area. I was working as a video editor back in Brazil, then when I got the job offer from GGG, I finally started my journey in VFX.

When did you start playing Path of Exile?

I started playing Path of Exile back in 2013 right after I got married. A friend of mine called Matheus knew that I played Diablo II a lot, and showed me the game through Steam. I fell in love with it at first sight and I haven't been able to stop playing since then. Now I have over 4,000 hours of this awesome experience and impressively enough, my wife didn't leave me!

How did you end up working for Grinding Gear Games?

Like I said before, I was working as a video editor in Brazil and by the end of 2016 I had lost my job due to the current situation in Brazil. It was then when I started working on a good portfolio. I had a good notion about visual effects, motion graphics, video montage, editing and stuff like that but I had never worked in the VFX before. I can't remember the time correctly but GGG posted on forum about hiring new employees and I decided to give it a shot! I prepared a separate portfolio just with creepy and gory stuff and sent it to Erik. I couldn't even believe what happened after that. Erik liked my portfolio and asked me if I would be interested in joining the team and here I am! Doing effects for the game that I love!